شعار السيمفونية المحمولة

الأسئلة المتداولة

مسار القصاصة

لماذا نحتاج إلى بلاستيك قابل للتحلل الحيوي؟

لأن آلاف الأطنان من النفايات البلاستيكية تدخل بيئة العالم كل يوم، وستبقى هناك لعقود.  في أي بلد من الممكن جمع كل البلاستيك لإعادة التدوير أو أشكال أخرى من التخلص المسؤول.

كيف يعمل؟

كمية صغيرة جدا من المواليةيتم وضع المضافة المتدهورة في عملية التصنيع.  هذا يكسر السلاسل الجزيئية في البوليمر ، وفي نهاية حياته المفيدة يتحلل المنتج.  وسوف تستهلكها البكتيريا والفطريات بعد أن خفضت المضافة الوزن الجزيئي إلى مستوى يسمح لهم بالوصول إلى الكربون والهيدروجين.

هل يتحلل البلاستيك القابل للتحلل الحيوي من OXO- القابلة للتحلل، أم أنه يتفتت فقط؟

أوكسو-البلاستيك القابل للتحلل يفعل فقط ما تقول، والدليل هو في الاسم - ويسمى أوكسو-البلاستيك القابلة للتحلل لأنها قابلة للتحلل الحيوي. أوكسو-التكنولوجيا القابلة للتحلل الحيوي تحول المنتجات البلاستيكية إلى مواد قابلة للتحلل في نهاية عمرها النافع ، وتفعل ذلك عن طريق الأكسدة في وجود الأكسجين. لا يوجد شيء مضلل حول هذا الموضوع.

هناك بعض العلماء الذين ليسوا خبراء في أوكسوالتكنولوجيا القابلة للتحلل وهناك الأفراد أو الشركات المؤذية الذين ينشرون المعلومات المضللة لأنهم يرغبون في إعطاء منتجهم الخاص ميزة في السوق التي لا يستحقها على أساس الجدارة. فريق علمي من جامعة بليز باسكال (مركز البحوث الرائدة في فرنسا في البلاستيك القابلة للتحلل) اعترض على خطأ 'ليست تقارير الخبراء جدا' والمعلومات المضللة التي تم تضليل الاتحاد الأوروبي بشأن هذه المسألة http://www.biodeg.org/CNEP%20Stmt%20Nov%202014%20 (En)--لومير%20appvd (1).pdf

أوكسو-تحلل البلاستيك القابل للتحلل الحيوي والتحلل الحيوي في البيئة المفتوحة بنفس الطريقة التي تتحلل بها نفايات الطبيعة ، فقط أسرع. ما هو أكثر من ذلك ، فإنه يفعل ذلك دون ترك أي بقايا سامة أو شظايا من البلاستيك وراءها. إذا كان الثيرانالبلاستيك القابلة للتحلل فقط مجزأة دون التحلل الحيوي، CEN (اللجنة الأوروبية للتوحيد القياسي) لم يكن ليعرف أوكسو-التحلل الحيوي باسم ""تدهور الناجمة عن الأكسدة والخلايا-الظواهر بوساطة، إما في وقت واحد أو على التوالي" ومنظمات المعايير الأمريكية والبريطانية والفرنسية لم تكن لتتضمن اختبارات للتحلل البيولوجي في ASTM D6954 و BS8472 و ACT51-808.

أوكسو-وقد درس البلاستيك القابلة للتحلل من قبل العلماء لسنوات عديدة http://www.biodeg.org/bibliography.html كان آخرها في معهد البحوث التقنية في السويد والجامعة السويدية للعلوم الزراعية، والأقرانتم نشر تقرير تمت مراجعته للعمل في المجلد 96 من مجلة تدهور البوليمر واستقراره (2011) في الصفحة 919-928- ووجدوا أن 91 في المائة من التحلل البيولوجي في غضون 24 شهراً.

وعلاوة على ذلك، درست عشر حكومات في العالم هذه التكنولوجيا بعناية فائقة وأدركت أن أوكسوالبلاستيك القابلة للتحلل يوفر حلا للنفايات البلاستيكية التي يهرب إلى بيئة مفتوحة، ولا يمكن واقعيا جمعها. لقد شرعوا في صنع الثيرانالبلاستيك القابلة للتحلل إلزامية، لأنه لا مجرد جزء. إنه يتحلل بيولوجياً

تستمر العملية حتى تتحلل المواد بيولوجيا إلى شيء أكثر من CO2، والماء ، والدبال. أنار لا يترك شظايا من بتروالبوليمرات في التربة.

ما هي التكلفة؟

القليل جدا، لأن المضافة تمثل فقط 1٪ من البوليمر، ولأن المنتجات يمكن أن تكون مصنوعة مع نفس الآلات والقوى العاملة والبلاستيك العادي.

هل سيضع المصانع القائمة خارج العمل، مع فقدان فرص العمل؟

لا، لأن العملاء التجاريين لا يزال بإمكانهم استخدام المصانع التي تزودهم بالمنتجات البلاستيكية العادية.

ما هي أنواع البلاستيك القابلة للتحلل الموجودة؟

النوعان الرئيسيان هما أوكسوقابلة للتحلل والمياهالتحلل.  في كلتا الحالتين يبدأ التدهور بعملية كيميائية (أكسدة أو تحلل مائي) ، تليها عملية بيولوجية.  كلا النوعين تنبعث CO2 كما أنها تتحلل، ولكن المائيةالقابلة للتحلل الحيوي (عادة النشا-على أساس) سوف تنبعث أيضا الميثان في ظل الظروف اللاهوائية على سبيل المثال في عمق مدافن النفايات.  فقط الثيرانيمكن إعادة تدويرها القابلة للتحلل اقتصاديًا.

ما هي الاختلافات بين البلاستيك القابلة للتحلل الحيوي والبلاستيك الهيدرولي القابلة للتحلل؟

بالتأكيد التعليم هو السبيل لحل مشكلة القمامة؟

نأمل أن يقلل التعليم من مشكلة القمامة على مدى عدة أجيال ، ولكن هناك كمية كبيرة من القمامة البلاستيكية اليوم وسيكون هناك دائمًا بعض القمامة.  يجب اتخاذ إجراءات اليوم للتحول إلى الأوكسوقابلة للتحلل قبل الملايين من الأطنان من النفايات البلاستيكية تتراكم في البيئة. وهذا ما فعلته الآن الإمارات العربية المتحدة وباكستان وبلدان أخرى بموجب القانون، وستقوم بلدان أخرى به.

أليس من الأفضل إعادة التدوير من السماح لها بالتدهور الحيوي؟

نعم، وواحدة من فوائد أوكسوالبلاستيك القابل للتحلل هو أنه يمكن إعادة تدويرها كجزء من تيار النفايات البلاستيكية العادية (انظر http://www.biodeg.org/recycling.html  ومع ذلك ، إذا لم يتم جمع البلاستيك لا يمكن بالطبع إعادة تدويرها ، لذلك يحتاج إلى التحلل بدلاً من التراكم في البيئة.

ماذا عن استعادة الطاقة؟

وفي بعض البلدان، يحظى الحرق بشعبية كبيرة، كما أن المعدات الحديثة موجودة.  أوكسو-يمكن حرق البلاستيك القابل للتحلل مع استعادة الطاقة بنفس الطريقة التي يتم بها حرق البلاستيك التقليدي ، وله قيمة حرارية أعلى من هيدروبديل قابل للتحلل.

هل يمكن سماده؟

أوكسو-البلاستيك القابلة للتحلل لا تتحلل بسرعة في درجة حرارة منخفضة "windrow" سماد، وأنها لن تجتاز بالتالي الاختبارات في EN13432 في الجدول الزمني هناك المحدد، لكنه مناسب ل "في-السفينة" سماد في درجات الحرارة المرتفعة المطلوبة من قبل الحيوان الاتحاد الأوروبي الجديد من قبللوائح المنتجات.

ماذا يحدث لها في مكب النفايات؟

أوكسو-جزء من البلاستيك القابل للتحلل الحيوي وتحلل حيوي جزئيًا إلى ثاني أكسيد الكربون2 والمياه في أجزاء من المكب حيث الأكسجين موجود، ولكن لا يمكن أن يستمر التدهور أعمق في المكب في غياب الأكسجين.

على النقيض من ذلك، هيدروقابلة للتحلل الحيوي (النشا-على أساس) البلاستيك سوف تتحلل وتنبعث منها CO2 في مكب النفايات. ومع ذلك ، في أعماق المكب ، في غياب الهواء ، هيدروالبلاستيك القابلة للتحلل توليد الميثان، وهو غاز الدفيئة قوية.

هل يحتوي أوكسوبيو البلاستيك على "معادن ثقيلة"؟

لا.  أنه يحتوي على أملاح معدنية، والتي هي العناصر النزرة المطلوبة في النظام الغذائي البشري. لا ينبغي الخلط بينها وبين السامهالثقيله المعادن مثل الرصاص والزئبق والكادميوم والكروم ، والتي لا تستخدم أبدا في أوكسوالبلاستيك القابلة للتحلل.

أليست مصنوعة من النفط؟

نعم.  أوكسو-البلاستيك القابل للتحلل مصنوعة حاليا من قبلمنتج من النفط أو الغاز الطبيعي.  هذه هي بالطبع موارد محدودة، ولكن من قبلالمنتج ينشأ لأن العالم يحتاج إلى الوقود ، وسوف تنشأ ما إذا كان أو لم يكن من قبلواستخدمت المنتج لصنع السلع البلاستيكية.  

حتى يتم تطوير أنواع أخرى من الوقود ومواد التشحيم للمحركات، فمن المنطقي بيئيا جيدا لاستخدام من قبلالمنتج ، بدلا من استخدام الموارد الزراعية لصنع البلاستيك.

في الآونة الأخيرة ، وقد أظهرت اهتماما ، وخاصة في البرازيل ، في تصنيع السكرالبولي إيثيلين المشتقة.  هذه، مثل النفطالـ بي المشتقة، ليست قابلة للتحلل، ولكن يمكن أن تكون مصنوعة من الثيرانقابلة للتحلل بنفس الطريقة ، من خلال إضافة المواليةالمضافة المهينة.

ولكن أليست المواد البلاستيكية القابلة للتحلل المائي قابلة للتجديد؟

لا – لا لأن عملية صنعها من المحاصيل هي في حد ذاتها مستخدم كبير للحفرياتطاقة الوقود ومنتج لذلك من غازات الاحتباس الحراري. انظر هنا.

يتم حرق الوقود الأحفوري وCO2 تنبعث من الآلات التي تقوم بتطهير الأرض وزراعتها، وفي تصنيع ونقل الأسمدة والمبيدات وفي نقل المحصول نفسه.  كما تستخدم الطاقة من قبل الأوتوكلاف التي البوليمرات المواد التوليف من المواد الوسيطة المنتجة كيميائيا بيولوجيا (مثل حمض البولي لاكتيك من الكربوهيدرات الخ). عندما تتحلل المادة biodegrade تنبعث منها COويمكن أن تنبعث منها الميثان، وبالتالي فإن مجموع الوقود الأحفوري المستخدم وغازات الاحتباس الحراري المنبعثة ستكون أكثر من التقليدية أو الثيرانالبلاستيك القابل للتحلل الحيوي.  

في يونيو 2009، خلص المعهد الألماني لبحوث الطاقة والبيئة إلى أن النفطالبلاستيك على أساس، وخاصة إذا أعيد تدويرها، لديها حياة أفضلدورة تحليل من البلاستيك السماد.  وكان هذا أيضا استنتاج اثنين من LCAs التي قامت بها Intertek http://www.biodeg.org/lifecycleassessments.html

هيدروهيدروتوصف القابلة للتحلل في بعض الأحيان بأنها مصنوعة من "غيرالمحاصيل الغذائية"، ولكن في الواقع عادة ما تكون مصنوعة من المحاصيل الغذائية، وترفع أسعار الأغذية البشرية والحيوانية.

هل يترك أوكسوبيو البلاستيك أي مخلفات ضارة؟

لا.  أوكسو-يجتاز البلاستيك القابل للتحلل جميع اختبارات السمية البيئية المعتادة ، بما في ذلك إنبات البذور ونمو النبات وبقاء الكائن الحي (دافنيا ، ديدان الأرض) الاختبارات التي أجريت وفقًا لمعايير منظمة التعاون والتنمية في الميدان الاقتصادي.

عمدا وفقدت تماما؟

الحجة التي أوكسوالبلاستيك القابل للتحلل غير مرغوب فيه لأن مكوناتها مصممة لتكون متعمدة ومفقودة تمامًا هي مغالطة ، لأنه إذا أراد الناس الحرق مع استعادة الحرارة ، أو إعادة تدويرها ميكانيكيًا ، أو سمادها في -السفينة، أو إعادةاستخدامها ، ثم هذا موافق ، وأنها تكلف القليل جدا إن كان أي شيء أكثر من المنتجات التقليدية.  النقطة الرئيسية هي ما يحدث للبلاستيك الذي هولا جمعت ، ويحصل في البيئة والقمامة؟  

على أي حال، أوكسوالبلاستيك القابل للتحلل ليس "يضيع عمدا ً وكلياً" حتى لو تحلل في البيئة، لأن التحلل البيولوجي هو مصدر للمغذيات النباتية، تماماً كما هو القش والعشب والأوراق وما إلى ذلك.

على النقيض من ذلك، هيدروالبلاستيك القابلة للتحلل هي "فقدت عمدا وتماما" لأن المعايير الدولية المعمول بها تتطلب منهم لتحويل إلى CO2 الغاز في غضون 180 يوما.

المزيد من التخلص من الإهمال؟

وقد تم توفير أكياس بلاستيكية قابلة للتحلل من قبل محلات السوبر ماركت لأكثر من عشر سنوات، ولكن لا يوجد دليل على أن الناس يتخلصون منها بشكل أكثر إهمالاً (سواء كان أوكسو أو هيدرو قابل للتحلل) ولم يتم تشجيعهم على القيام بذلك.  نوع الشخص الذي يسبب القمامة لن يكلف نفسه عناء البحث عن تسمية قابلة للتحلل قبل رميه من نافذة السيارة.

ولكن لنفترض من أجل حجة أن 10٪ أكثر تم تجاهلها.  إذا كان 1000 التقليدية و 1100 أوكسوتركت أكياس قابلة للتحلل دون جمعها في البيئة ، و1000 أكياس التقليدية ستبقى في الأنهار والشوارع والحقول لعقود ، ولكن أيا من أوكسو --سيتم ترك أكياس قابلة للتحلل في نهاية الحياة القصيرة المبرمجة فيها في التصنيع.

كما سيكون هناك دائما الناس الذين سوف عمدا أو عن طريق الخطأ التخلص من النفايات البلاستيكية ، ثقبعة سوف يحدث لجميع النفايات البلاستيكية التي لن يعاد تدويرها أو لن يتم حرقها، وبدلا من ذلك سوف القمامة في الريف - لن يكون من الأفضل إذا كان البلاستيك كل oxoالتحلل؟  إذا كان كل البلاستيك قد أوكسوبيو لن يكون هناك بقع القمامة المحيط.

هل هو آمن للتواصل الغذائي؟

نعم.  أوكسو-وقد تم اعتماد البلاستيك القابلة للتحلل من قبل مختبرات رابرا تحليل التكنولوجيا وآمنة لفترة طويلة-مصطلح الاتصال مع أي نوع من أنواع الطعام في درجات حرارة تصل إلى 40 درجة مئوية وفقا للوائح الأوروبية. تم اعتماد RAPRA من قبل سلطات الاعتماد في المملكة المتحدة لتلبية متطلبات المعيار رقم 17025 لمنظمة المعايير الدولية. أوكسو-كما تم اعتماد البلاستيك القابلة للتحلل امتثال لمتطلبات ادارة الاغذية والعقاقير في الولايات المتحدة.

هل يمكن تسويق OXO-BIO على أنها قابلة للتحلل أو السماد العضوي؟

نعم (باستثناء كاليفورنيا). قضت محكمة في المحكمة الأمريكية في فبراير/شباط 2015 بأنه ليس من الضروري إثبات التحلل البيولوجي الكامل، ولا ضمن أي جدول زمني معين.

في 8 أبريل 2010 قررت هيئة معايير الإعلان في جنوب أفريقيا أن أكياس الخبز المصنوعة من الثيرانيمكن الإعلان عن البلاستيك القابل للتحلل الحيوي على أنه قابل للتحلل الحيوي.

معيار الاتحاد الأوروبي الحالي للسماد (EN13432) غير مناسب لاختبار oxo-البلاستيك القابل للتحلل الحيوي.  لا يشترط توجيه نفايات التعبئة والتغليف في الاتحاد الأوروبي أنه عندما يتم تسويق منتج التعبئة والتغليف على أنه "قابل للتحلل" أو "قابل للسماد" يجب تقييمه وفقًا لـ EN13432.  وينص التوجيه على أنه يمكن افتراض الامتثال لمتطلباته الأساسية إذا تم الامتثال لـ EN 13432، ولكنه لا يستبعد إثبات المطابقة بأدلة أخرى.  في الواقع المرفق Z من EN13432 نفسه يقول أنه يوفر فقطوسيلة واحدة للمطابقة مع المتطلبات الأساسية.  

أليس من الأفضل استخدام أكياس الورق؟

لا.  عملية صنع أكياس الورق يسبب 70٪ من التلوث الجوي أكثر من الأكياس البلاستيكية.  أكياس الورق استخدام 300٪ المزيد من الطاقة لإنتاج، وتستخدم هذه العملية كميات هائلة من المياه ويخلق النفايات العضوية غير سارة للغاية. عندما تتحلل تنبعث منها الميثان وثاني أكسيد الكربون.

كومة من 1000 أكياس جديدة الناقل البلاستيك سيكون حوالي 2 بوصة عالية، ولكن كومة من أكياس البقالة ورقة جديدة 1000 يمكن أن يكون حوالي 2 أقدام عالية.  وسيتطلب الأمر سبعة أضعاف عدد الشاحنات على الأقل لتسليم نفس العدد من الحقائب، مما يؤدي إلى زيادة تلوث النقل وازدحام الطرق بسبعة أضعاف.

أيضا، لأن أكياس الورق ليست قوية مثل البلاستيك، قد يستخدم الناس اثنين أو ثلاثة أكياس داخل بعضها البعض.  أكياس الورق لا يمكن عادة إعادةالمستخدمة، وسوف تتفكك إذا الرطب.

أليس من الأفضل استخدام أكياس قابلة لإعادة الاستخدام؟

لا.  طويل-مصطلح إعادةأكياس التسوق القابلة للاستخدام ليست هي الحل.  فهي أكثر سمكا وأكثر تكلفة، وسوف تكون هناك حاجة إلى عدد كبير منهم للتسوق الأسبوعي لأسرة متوسطة. فهي ليست صحية ما لم يتم تنظيفها بعد كل استخدام.  في حين دعا في بعض الأحيان "أكياس للحياة" لديهم حياة محدودة، اعتمادا على العلاج الذي يتلقونه، وتصبح مشكلة دائمة جدا عند التخلص منها.

المتسوقين لا يذهبون دائما إلى المحل من المنزل، حيث إعادةعادة ما يتم الاحتفاظ بالحقائب القابلة للاستخدام ، ومن غير المرجح أن يكون لدى المستهلكين إعادةحقيبة قابلة للاستخدام معهم عند شراء على عناصر دفعة مثل الملابس والبقالة والإعلانات المدمجة والمجلات والقرطاسية الخ.  

ومع ذلك ، بالنسبة لأولئك الذين يؤمنون طويلةمصطلح إعادةأكياس قابلة للاستخدام، ويمكن أن تكون مصنوعة من تمديد-الحياة أوكسو-البلاستيك القابل للتحلل الحيوي الذي يحتوي على مضادالمضافة الميكروبية.

كم من الوقت يستغرق التدهور؟

ميزة هامة من أوكسوالبلاستيك القابلة للتحلل هو أنه يمكن برمجتها لتتحلل في أي مقياس زمني مطلوب.  عادة ما يكون متوسط العمر النافع لحقيبة الناقل حوالي 18 شهرًا (للسماح بالتوزيع والتخزين وإعادةاستخدام) ، ولكن أقصر أو أطول أوقات ممكنة.  خلال ذلك الوقت أكياس غالبا ما تكون إعادة-تستخدم للتسوق أو لاستخدامها كما بنبطانات الخ.  الحرارة والضوء سوف تسريع هذه العملية، لكنها ليست ضرورية.  إذا تم التخلص منها في البيئة الخارجية في نهاية عمرها النافع ، فسوف تتحلل وتتحلل بيولوجيًا بسرعة أكبر بكثير من البلاستيك التقليدي.  ويمكن التنبؤ بالجدول الزمني للمرحلة اللاأحيائية من خلال الاختبارات المختبرية، ولكن ليس من الضروري أو الممكن التنبؤ بالجدول الزمني للتحلل البيولوجي اللاحق.

ما هي المنتجات المتاحة في البلاستيك القابلة للتحلل الـOXO؟

  • حقائب الناقل أو "المتسوق-الحقائب" التي يستخدمها المستهلكون لأخذ مشترياتهم من المتجر
  • أكياس القمامة، التي يشتريها المستهلكون في لفائف في المحل، وتستخدم للتخلص من نفاياتهم المنزلية العادية.
  • المآزر، لحماية الملابس، في المنزل والمستشفيات والمطاعم وورش العمل الخ.
  • أكياس لاحتواء براز الكلاب التي تم جمعها في الحدائق والحدائق، الخ
  • بوين بوين
  • قفازات
  • الأغطية البلاستيكية لمجموعة متنوعة من التطبيقات في الزراعة والبستنة.   فيلم بلاستيكي لتغليف الصحف والمجلات.
  • أكياس الخبز
  • أكياس الطعام المجمدة
  • مغلفة لعلب السجائر
  • تقليصالتفاف والبليت-التفاف
  • "فقاعة-التفاف"
  •  منتجات جامدة مثل الزجاجات والأكواب
  • المزيد من المنتجات سوف تصبح متاحة في الوقت المناسب.

ما هي المعايير الوطنية أو الدولية الموجودة؟

أوكسو-يمكن اختبار البلاستيك القابلة للتحلل وفقا لمعيار الأمريكية ASTM D6954-04 للبلاستيك التي تتحلل في البيئة من خلال مزيج من الأكسدة والتحلل البيولوجي. أيضا ، وفقا للمعيار البريطاني 8472 ، أو معيار الإمارات العربية المتحدة 5009 لعام 2009 ، أو الاتفاق الفرنسي T51 -808.

منظمة المعايير الفرنسية ، AFNOR ، كما نشرت إكس بي تي 54 --980، لأوكسو-البلاستيك القابلة للتحلل في الزراعة.

المعيار الأوروبي EN 13432 ينطبق فقط على البلاستيك التغليف، وكان مكتوبا قبل أوكسوأصبحت البلاستيك القابلة للتحلل شعبية.  انها ليست مناسبة لاختبار أوكسوالبلاستيك القابل للتحلل الحيوي لأنه يقوم على قياس الانبعاثات السريعة لثاني أكسيد الكربون أثناء التحلل البيولوجي.  هيدروهيدروالبلاستيك القابل للتحلل يتوافق مع EN 13432 ، على وجه التحديد لأنه ينبعث منه CO2 (غاز الدفيئة) بمعدل سريع.

Symphony Environmental
Technologies Plc

Why do we need oxo-biodegradable plastic?

Because thousands of tons of plastic waste are entering the world’s environment every day, and will remain there for decades.  In no country is it possible to collect all the plastic for recycling or other forms of responsible disposal.

How does it work?

A very small amount of pro-degradant additive is put into the manufacturing process.  This breaks the molecular chains in the polymer, and at the end of its useful life the product degrades.  It will be consumed by bacteria and fungi after the additive has reduced the molecular weight to a level which permits them access to the carbon and hydrogen.

Does oxo-biodegradable plastic biodegrade, or does it just fragment?

Oxo-biodegradable plastic does just what it says, the clue is in the name – It is called oxo-biodegradable plastic because it is biodegradable. Oxo-biodegradable technology converts plastic products into biodegradable materials at the end of their useful life, and it does this by oxidation in the presence of oxygen. There is nothing misleading about it.

There are some scientists who are not expert in oxo-biodegradable technology and there are mischievous individuals or companies who are spreading misinformation because they wish to give their own product an advantage in the marketplace that it does not deserve on merit. A scientific team from Blaise Pascal University (France’s leading research centre into degradable plastics) took issue with the erroneous ‘not very expert reports’ and misinformation by which the EU has been misled on this issue http://www.biodeg.org/CNEP%20Stmt%20Nov%202014%20(En)-Lemaire%20appvd(1).pdf

Oxo-biodegradable plastic degrades and biodegrades in the open environment in the same way as nature’s wastes, only quicker. What’s more, it does so without leaving any toxic residues or fragments of plastic behind. If oxo-biodegradable plastic merely fragmented without biodegrading, CEN (European Committee for Standardization)would not have defined oxo-biodegradability as ““degradation resulting from oxidative and cell-mediated phenomena, either simultaneously or successively” and the American, British and French standards organisations would not have included tests for biodegradability in ASTM D6954, BS8472 and ACT51-808.

Oxo-biodegradable plastic has been studied by scientists for many years http://www.biodeg.org/bibliography.html most recently at the Technical Research Institute of Sweden and the Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences, and a peer-reviewed report of the work was published in Vol 96 of the journal of Polymer Degradation & Stability (2011) at page 919-928. They found 91% biodegradation within 24 months.

Furthermore, ten governments in the world have examined this technology very carefully and realised that oxo-biodegradable plastic offers a solution to plastic waste that escapes into the open environment and cannot realistically be collected. They have legislated to make oxo-biodegradable plastic mandatory, because it does not just fragment. It biodegrades.

The process continues until the material has biodegraded to nothing more than CO2, water, and humus. It does not leave fragments of petro-polymers in the soil.

What does it cost?

Very little, because the additive represents only 1% of the polymer, and because the products can be made with the same machines and workforce as ordinary plastic.

Won’t it put existing factories out of business, with loss of jobs?

No, because commercial customers can still use the factories which supply them with ordinary plastic products.

What types of biodegradable plastics exist?

The two main types are oxo-biodegradable and hydro-biodegradable.  In both cases degradation begins with a chemical process (oxidation or hydrolysis), followed by a biological process.  Both types emit CO2 as they degrade, but hydro-biodegradables (usually starch-based) will also emit methane under anaerobic conditions eg deep in landfill.  Only oxo-biodegradable can be economically recycled.

What are the differences between oxo-biodegradable and hydro-biodegradable plastic?

See: The Relevance of Biodegradable Plastic

Surely education is the way to solve the litter problem?

Hopefully education will reduce the litter problem over several generations, but there is a huge amount of plastic litter today and there will always be some litter.  Action needs to be taken today to switch to oxo-biodegradable before millions more tons of plastic waste accumulate in the environment. This what the United Arab Emirates, Pakistan and other countries have now done by law, and other countries will be doing.

Isn’t it better to recycle than to let it biodegrade?

Yes, and one of the benefits of oxo-biodegradable plastic is that it can be recycled as part of a normal plastic waste stream (see http://www.biodeg.org/recycling.html  However, if the plastic is not collected it cannot of course be recycled, so it needs to degrade instead of accumulating in the environment.

What about energy recovery?

In some countries incineration is popular, and modern equipment is in place.  Oxo-biodegradable plastic can be incinerated with energy recovery in the same way as conventional plastic, and has a higher calorific value than the hydro-biodegradable alternative.

Can it be composted?

Oxo-biodegradable plastic does not degrade quickly in low temperature “windrow” composting, and it will not therefore pass the tests in EN13432 in the timescale there specified, but it is suitable for “in-vessel” composting at the higher temperatures required by the new EU animal by-products regulations.  

What happens to it in a landfill?

Oxo-biodegradable plastics fragment and partially biodegrade to CO2 and water in the parts of the landfill where oxygen is present, but degradation cannot continue deeper in the landfill in the absence of oxygen.

By contrast, hydro-biodegradable (starch-based) plastics will degrade and emit CO2 in a landfill. However, in the depths of a landfill, in the absence of air, hydro-biodegradable plastics generate methane, which is a powerful greenhouse gas.

Does oxobio plastic contain “heavy metals”?

No.  It contains metal salts, which are trace elements required in the human diet. They should not be confused with toxicheavy metals such as Lead, Mercury, Cadmium and Chromium, which are never used in oxo-biodegradable plastics.

Isn’t it made from oil?

Yes.  Oxo-biodegradable plastics are currently made from a by-product of oil or natural gas.  These are of course finite resources, but the by-product arises because the world needs fuels, and would arise whether or not the by-product were used to make plastic goods.  

Until other fuels and lubricants have been developed for engines, it makes good environmental sense to use the by-product, instead of using agricultural resources to make plastics.

Recently, interest has been shown, especially in Brazil, in manufacturing sugar-derived polyethylenes.  These, like oil-derived PE, are not biodegradable, but they can be made oxo-biodegradable in the same way, by the addition of a pro-degradant additive.

But aren’t the hydro-biodegradable plastics renewable?

No – because the process of making them from crops is itself a significant user of fossil-fuel energy and a producer therefore of greenhouse gases. See  http://www.biodeg.org/Hydro-biodegradable%20Plastic%20Production%20Process.pdf  

Fossil fuels are burned and CO2 is emitted by the machines which clear and cultivate the land, and in the manufacture and transport of fertilisers and pesticides and in transporting the crop itself.  Energy is also used by the autoclaves which polymerise material synthesised from biochemically produced intermediates (e.g. polylactic acid from carbohydrates etc). When the material biodegrades it emits CO2 and can emit methane, so the total fossil fuels used and greenhouse gases emitted will be more than for conventional or oxo-biodegradable plastic.  

In June 2009 Germany’s Institute for Energy and Environmental Research concluded that oil-based plastics, especially if recycled, have a better Life-cycle Analysis than compostable plastics.  This was also the conclusion of two LCAs done by Intertek http://www.biodeg.org/lifecycleassessments.html

Hydro-biodegradables are sometimes described as made from “non-food” crops, but are in fact usually made from food crops, and drive up the price of human and animal food.

Does oxobio plastic leave any harmful residues?

No.  Oxo-biodegradable plastic passes all the usual ecotoxicity tests, including seed germination, plant growth and organism survival (daphnia, earthworms) tests carried out in accordance with OECD standards.

Deliberately and totally lost?

The argument that oxo-biodegradable plastics are undesirable because their components are designed to be deliberately and totally lost is a fallacy, because if people want to incinerate with heat recovery, or mechanically recycle them, or compost them in-vessel, or re-use them, then that’s OK, and they cost very little if anything more than conventional products.  The key point is what happens to the plastic which is not collected, and gets into the environment as litter?  

In any event, oxo-biodegradable plastics are not “deliberately and totally lost” even if they degrade in the environment, because biodegradation is a source of plant nutrients, just as is straw, grass, leaves etc.

By contrast, hydro-biodegradable plastics ARE “deliberately and totally lost” because the applicable international standards require them to convert to CO2 gas within 180 days.

More Careless disposal?

Degradable plastic bags have been supplied by supermarkets for more than ten years, but there is no evidence that people dispose more carelessly of them (whether oxo or hydro biodegradable) and they have not been encouraged to do so.  The type of person who causes litter will not bother to look for a biodegradable label before tossing it out of a car window.

But suppose for the sake of argument that 10% more were discarded.  If 1,000 conventional and 1,100 oxo-biodegradable bags were left uncollected in the environment, 1,000 conventional bags would remain in the rivers, streets and fields for decades, but none of the oxo-biodegradable bags would be left at the end of the short life programmed into them at manufacture.

As there will always be people who will deliberately or accidentally discard their plastic waste, what will happen to all the plastic waste that will not be recycled or will not be incinerated, and instead will litter the countryside – would it not be better if the plastic were all oxo-biodegradable?  If all the plastic has been oxobio there would be no ocean garbage patches.

Is it safe for food-contact?

Yes.  Oxo-biodegradable plastic has been certified by RAPRA Technology Analytical Laboratories as safe for long-term contact with any food type at temperatures up to 40°C according to European regulations. RAPRA is accredited by the United Kingdom accreditation authorities as meeting the requirements of International Standards Organisation norm no.17025. Oxo-biodegradable plastics are also certified as compliant with FDA requirements in the US.

Can oxo-bio be marketed as Biodegradable or Compostable?

Yes (except in California). A court in the US court ruled in February 2015 that it is not necessary to prove complete biodegradation, nor within any particular timescale.

On 8th April 2010 the Advertising Standards Authority of South Africa ruled that bread bags made with oxo-biodegradable plastic can be advertised as Biodegradable.

The current EU Standard for composting  (EN13432) is not appropriate for testing oxo-biodegradable plastic.  The EU Packaging Waste Directive does NOT require that when a packaging product is marketed as “degradable” or “compostable” it must be assessed according to EN13432.  The Directive provides that conformity with its essential requirements may be presumed if EN 13432 is complied with, but it does not exclude proof of conformity by other evidence.  Indeed Annex Z of EN13432 itself says that it provides only one means of conforming with the essential requirements.  

Isn’t it better to use paper bags?

No.  The process of making paper bags causes 70% more atmospheric pollution than plastic bags.  Paper bags use 300% more energy to produce, and the process uses huge amounts of water and creates very unpleasant organic waste. When they degrade they emit methane and carbon dioxide.

A stack of 1000 new plastic carrier bags would be around 2 inches high, but a stack of 1000 new paper grocery bags could be around 2 feet high.  It would take at least seven times the number of trucks to deliver the same number of bags, creating seven times more transport pollution and road congestion.

Also, because paper bags are not as strong as plastic, people may use two or three bags inside each other.  Paper bags cannot normally be re-used, and will disintegrate if wet.

Isn’t it better to use durable re-usable bags?

No.  Long-term re-usable shopping bags are not the answer.  They are much thicker and more expensive, and a large number of them would be required for the weekly shopping of an average family. They are not hygienic unless cleaned after each use.  Whilst sometimes called “Bags for Life” they have a limited life, depending on the treatment they receive, and become a very durable problem when discarded.

Shoppers do not always go to the shop from home, where the re-usable bags would normally be kept, and consumers are unlikely to have a re-usable bag with them when buying on impulse items such as clothing, groceries, CDs, magazines, stationery etc.  

However, for those who believe in long-term re-usable bags, they can be made from extended-life oxo-biodegradable washable plastic containing an anti-microbial additive.

How long does it take to degrade?

An important advantage of oxo-biodegradable plastic is that it can be programmed to degrade in whatever timescale is required.  The average useful life of a carrier bag is usually designed to be about 18 months (to allow for distribution, stocking, and re-use), but shorter or longer times are possible.  During that time bags are often re-used for shopping or for use as bin-liners etc.  Heat and light will accelerate the process, but they are not essential.  If discarded in the outdoor environment at the end of its useful life it will degrade and biodegrade much more quickly than conventional plastic.  Timescale for the abiotic phase can be predicted by laboratory tests, but it is not necessary or possible to predict timescale for subsequent biodegradation.

What products are available in oxo-biodegradable plastic?

Carrier bags or “shopper-bags” which consumers use to take away their purchases from the shop

Refuse sacks, which consumers buy in rolls at the shop, and use for disposal of their ordinary household waste.

Aprons, for the protection of garments, in the home, hospitals, restaurants, workshops etc.

Bags to contain dog faeces collected in parks, gardens, etc

Bin liners

Gloves

Plastic sheeting for a variety of applications in agriculture and horticulture.

Plastic film for wrapping newspapers and magazines.

Bread bags

Frozen food bags

Wrappers for cigarette packets

Shrink-wrap and pallet-wrap

“Bubble-wrap”

Rigid products such as bottles and cups

More products will become available in due course.

What national or international standards exist?

Oxo-biodegradable plastic can be tested according to American Standard ASTM D6954-04 for Plastics that Degrade in the Environment by a Combination of Oxidation and Biodegradation. Also, according to British Standard 8472, or UAE Standard 5009 of 2009, or the French Accord T51-808.

The French Standards organisation, AFNOR, has also published XP T 54-980, for oxo-biodegradable plastics in agriculture.

European standard EN 13432 applies only to plastic packaging, and was written before oxo-biodegradable plastics became popular.  It is not appropriate for testing oxo-biodegradable plastics because it is based on measuring the rapid emission of carbon dioxide during biodegradation.  Hydro-biodegradable plastic is compliant with EN 13432, precisely because it emits CO2 (a greenhouse gas) at a rapid rate.