交响乐移动标志

常见问题

剪辑路径

我们为什么需要生物- 生物塑料?

因为每天有数千吨的塑料垃圾进入世界环境,并且将在那里停留几十年。 任何国家都不可能收集所有塑料进行回收或其他形式的负责任的处置。

它是如何工作的?

非常少量的亲降解添加剂被放入制造过程中。 这打破了聚合物中的分子链,并在其使用寿命结束时,产品降解。 当添加剂将分子量降低到允许它们获得碳和氢的水平后,细菌和真菌将被细菌和真菌所消耗。

是"可塑性",还是"无用之能"?

Oxo-可生物降解的塑料只是它所说的,线索是在名称 - 它被称为牛可生物降解塑料,因为它是可生物降解的。Oxo-可生物降解技术在塑料产品使用寿命结束时将塑料产品转化为可生物降解材料,并在氧气存在的情况下通过氧化来达到这一目的。没有什么误导。

有一些科学家不是牛可生物降解的技术,也有调皮的个人或公司传播错误信息,因为他们希望给自己的产品在市场上的优势,它不值得其价值。布莱斯·帕斯卡尔大学(法国领先的可降解塑料研究中心)的一个科学团队对错误"不太专业的报告"和错误信息表示异议,因为欧盟在这个问题上被误导了http://www.biodeg.org/CNEP%20Stmt%202014%20(En)-莱迈尔%20appvd(1).pdf

Oxo-可生物降解的塑料在开放环境中降解和生物降解的方式与自然废物相同,只是更快。更重要的是,它这样做,没有留下任何有毒的残留物或塑料碎片。如果氧化生物降解塑料只是零碎而不生物降解,CEN(欧洲标准化委员会)不会定义生物降解性作为""降解由氧化和细胞同时或连续的"同时或连续"现象,以及美国、英国和法国标准组织不会在ASTM D6954、BS8472和ACT51中纳入生物降解性测试。808.

Oxo-可生物降解塑料已被科学家研究多年http://www.biodeg.org/bibliography.html最近在瑞典技术研究所和瑞典农业科学大学,和同行研究报告发表在《聚合物降解与稳定性》杂志第96页(2011年),第919页。928. 他们在24个月内发现了91%的生物降解。

此外,世界上有十个政府非常仔细地研究了这项技术,并意识到可生物降解塑料为塑料废物提供了一种解决方案,这种塑料废物会逃逸到开放环境中,无法实际收集。他们已立法,使可生物降解的塑料是强制性的,因为它不只是碎片。它生物降解。

这个过程一直持续到材料生物降解到CO2,水和腐殖质。Ⅰt 不会留下石油碎片土壤中的聚合物。

它的成本是多少?

很少,因为添加剂只占聚合物的1%,而且产品可以用与普通塑料相同的机器和劳动力制造。

它会让现有工厂停业,失去工作吗?

不可以,因为商业客户仍然可以使用供应普通塑料制品的工厂。

存在哪些类型的可生物降解塑料?

两种主要类型是可生物降解和水力生物 降解。 在这两种情况下,降解从化学过程(氧化或水解)开始,然后是生物过程。 两种类型都发出 CO2 因为他们降解,但水力可生物降解(通常是淀粉-基)还将在厌氧条件下排放甲烷,如在垃圾填埋场深处。 只有草可生物降解,可经济回收。

生物与生物与生物的差别是什么?

教育当然是解决垃圾问题的方法吗?

希望教育能减少几代人的垃圾问题,但今天有大量的塑料垃圾,而且总会有一些垃圾。 今天需要采取行动,以切换到在数百万吨塑料废物积聚在环境中之前,可生物降解。阿联酋、巴基斯坦等国现在依法这样做,其他国家也将这样做。

难道不是更好的回收比让IT生物?

是,和氧化可生物降解的塑料是,它可以作为正常塑料废物流的一部分进行回收(参见 http://www.biodeg.org/recycling.html  然而,如果不收集塑料,它当然不能回收,所以它需要降解,而不是在环境中积累。

能量回收呢?

在一些国家,焚烧很流行,而且设备也已经到位。 Oxo-可生物降解塑料可以像传统塑料一样通过能量回收进行焚烧,并且具有比水力更高的热值。可生物降解的替代品。

可以堆肥吗?

Oxo-可生物降解塑料在低温"风行"堆肥中不会迅速降解,因此不会在指定的时间范围内通过EN13432的测试,但它适用于"在在新的欧盟动物要求更高的温度下堆肥产品法规。

在 LANDFILL 中,IT 会有什么用?

Oxo-可生物降解塑料碎片和部分生物降解CO2 和存在氧气的垃圾填埋场部分的水,但在缺乏氧气的情况下,在垃圾填埋场的降解不会持续加深。

相比之下,水力可生物降解(淀粉-基于)塑料会降解并排放 CO2 在垃圾填埋场。然而,在垃圾填埋场的深处,在没有空气的情况下,水力可生物降解的塑料产生甲烷,这是一种强大的温室气体。

是否含有"大金属"?

不。 它含有金属盐,这是人类饮食中所需的微量元素。它们不应与 有毒 金属 如铅、汞、镉和铬,它们从未用于可生物降解塑料。

不是从OIL中来?

是的。 Oxo-可生物降解塑料目前由石油或天然气产品。 这些当然是有限的资源,但产品之所以出现,是因为世界需要燃料,并会出现无论是否产品被用来制造塑料制品。  

在为发动机开发其他燃料和润滑剂之前,使用产品,而不是使用农业资源来制造塑料。

最近,人们表现出了对制造糖的兴趣,特别是在巴西。衍生聚乙烯。 这些,像油衍生的PE,不可生物降解,但他们可以制成氧化以同样方式进行生物降解,通过添加亲-降解添加剂。

但是,不是"可塑性"的,而是"可更新"的?

否 | 因为从作物中制造它们的过程本身就是化石的重要使用者。燃料能源,因此是温室气体的制造者。看到 这里.

化石燃料被燃烧和CO2 由清除和耕种土地的机器排放,在化肥和农药的制造和运输以及作物本身的运输中排放。 高压灭菌器也使用能量,从生化生产的中间体(例如碳水化合物中的聚乳酸等)中聚合材料。当材料生物降解时,它会发出CO并能排放甲烷,因此所使用的化石燃料和排放的温室气体总量将超过常规或氧化可生物降解塑料。  

2009年6月,德国能源和环境研究所得出结论,石油基于塑料,特别是如果回收,有一个更好的生活-与可堆肥塑料相比,循环分析。 这也是Intertek完成的两项LCA的结论 http://www.biodeg.org/lifecycleassessments.html

水力发电可生物降解有时被描述为由"非粮食"作物,但实际上通常是由粮食作物,并推高了人类和动物食品的价格。

是否保留任何有害残存的残渣?

不。 Oxo-可生物降解塑料通过所有通常的生态毒性测试,包括根据经合组织标准进行的种子发芽、植物生长和生物生存(达芙尼亚、蚕)测试。

故意和完全失去?

oxo-可生物降解的塑料是不可取的,因为它们的部件被设计成故意和完全丢失是一个谬论,因为如果人们想用热回收进行焚烧,或者机械地回收它们,或者将它们堆肥在船舶,或重新使用它们,那么这是确定,他们的成本非常低,如果比传统的产品更多。 关键是塑料会发生什么,不 收集,并进入环境作为垃圾?  

在任何情况下,可生物降解的塑料即使能在环境中降解,也不会"故意完全丢失",因为生物降解是植物养分的来源,就像稻草、草、树叶等一样。

相比之下,水力可生物降解的塑料是"故意和完全丢失",因为适用的国际标准要求他们转换为CO2 气体在180天内。

更粗心的处理?

可降解的塑料袋由超市供应超过十年,但没有证据表明人们处理它们更粗心(无论是氧化或水可生物降解),他们没有被鼓励这样做。 造成垃圾的人,在把它从车窗里扔出去之前,不会费心寻找可生物降解的标签。

但是,假设为了争论,10%以上被丢弃。 如果 1,000 常规和 1,100 氧化可生物降解的袋子在环境中没有收集,1000个常规袋将留在河流,街道和田野几十年,但没有一个牛可生物降解的袋子将在制造时被编程到它们的寿命的短时。

因为总会有人故意或意外地丢弃他们的塑料废物,w帽子将发生在所有塑料废物,将不能回收或不会焚烧,而是将垃圾在农村 | 如果塑料都是氧化的,会不会更好?生物 降解? 如果所有的塑料都是草氧生物,就不会有海洋垃圾补丁。

食物接触安全吗?

是的。 Oxo-可生物降解塑料已被RAPRA技术分析实验室认证为安全的长期根据欧洲法规,在高达 40°C 的温度下与任何食物类型进行定期接触。RAPRA 被英国认证机构认可为符合国际标准组织第 17025 号规范的要求。Oxo-可生物降解塑料也在美国被认证符合FDA要求。

OXO-BIO 能否作为可生物或可销售?

是(加利福尼亚州除外)。2015 年 2 月,美国法院的一家法院裁定,没有必要证明完全的生物降解,也没有必要在任何特定的时间范围内证明。

2010年4月8日,南非广告标准局裁定,用牛可生物降解塑料可以宣传为可生物降解。

现行欧盟堆肥标准 (EN13432) 不适合测试可生物降解塑料。 欧盟包装废物指令不要求当包装产品被销售为"可降解"或"可堆肥"时,必须根据 EN13432 进行评估。 该指令规定,如果符合EN 13432,可以推定符合其基本要求,但不排除其他证据的符合性证明。 事实上,EN13432的附件Z本身说,它只提供符合的一种手段 基本要求。  

是不是最好使用纸袋?

不。 造纸袋的制造过程造成的大气污染比塑料袋多70%。 纸袋使用300%以上的能源来生产,这个过程使用大量的水,并产生非常不愉快的有机废物。当它们降解时,它们会排放甲烷和二氧化碳。

一叠1000个新的塑料袋大约2英寸高,但一叠1000个新的纸购物袋可能高约2英尺。 运送相同数量的袋子至少需要卡车数量的7倍,造成7倍的运输污染和道路拥堵。

此外,由于纸袋不如塑料强,人们可能会使用两到三个袋子内部。 纸袋通常不能重新使用,如果潮湿,将分解。

难道不是更好的使用持久式使用袋?

不。 长-期限重新-可用的购物袋不是答案。 它们更厚,更昂贵,而且需要大量普通家庭每周购物。除非每次使用后清洁,否则不卫生。 虽然有时被称为"生命袋",他们只有有限的生命,这取决于他们接受的治疗,并成为一个非常持久的问题,当被丢弃。

购物者并不总是从家里去商店,在那里重新可用袋通常会被保存,而消费者不太可能有一个购买时携带的实用袋,如衣服、杂货、CD、杂志、文具等。  

然而,对于那些相信长期期限重新-可用的袋子,他们可以由扩展生命氧-可生物降解的可清洗塑料,含有抗微生物添加剂。

降级需要多长时间?

氧化剂的重要优势可生物降解塑料是它可以被编程降解,无论需要什么时间尺度。 手提袋的平均使用寿命通常设计为约 18 个月(以便分发、储存和重新使用),但时间越短或更长。 在此期间,袋子经常重新用于购物或用作垃圾箱衬垫等。 热和光会加速这个过程,但它们不是必须的。 如果在使用寿命结束时被丢弃在户外环境中,其降解和生物降解速度将比传统塑料快得多。 非生物阶段的时间尺度可以通过实验室测试预测,但没有必要或不可能预测后续生物降解的时间尺度。

在生物中有哪些产品?

  • 手提袋或"购物者-袋",消费者用来从商店拿走他们的购买
  • 垃圾袋,消费者在商店里用卷子购买,并用于处理他们普通的家庭垃圾。
  • 护边,用于保护服装,在家庭,医院,餐馆,车间等。
  • 装有在公园、花园等收集的狗粪的袋子
  • 箱内衬
  • 手套
  • 塑料薄膜适用于农业和园艺的各种应用。 包装报纸和杂志的塑料薄膜。
  • 面包袋
  • 冷冻食品袋
  • 香烟包装纸
  • 收缩-包装和托盘-包装
  • "泡泡-包装"
  •  硬质产品,如瓶子和杯子
  • 更多的产品将在适当的时候推出。

存在哪些国家标准或国际标准?

Oxo-可生物降解塑料可按照美国标准 ASTM D6954 进行测试04 用于通过氧化和生物降解组合在环境中降解的塑料。此外,根据英国标准 8472 或阿联酋标准 5009 2009, 或法国雅阁 T51-808.

法国标准组织AFNOR也发布了XP T 54-980,用于氧化农业中的可生物降解塑料。

欧洲标准 EN 13432 仅适用于塑料 包装,并写在牛可生物降解塑料开始流行起来。 它不适合测试可生物降解塑料,因为它基于测量生物降解过程中二氧化碳的快速排放。 水力发电可生物降解塑料符合 EN 13432 标准,正是因为它排放了 CO2 (温室气体)以快速的速度。

Symphony Environmental
Technologies Plc

Why do we need oxo-biodegradable plastic?

Because thousands of tons of plastic waste are entering the world’s environment every day, and will remain there for decades.  In no country is it possible to collect all the plastic for recycling or other forms of responsible disposal.

How does it work?

A very small amount of pro-degradant additive is put into the manufacturing process.  This breaks the molecular chains in the polymer, and at the end of its useful life the product degrades.  It will be consumed by bacteria and fungi after the additive has reduced the molecular weight to a level which permits them access to the carbon and hydrogen.

Does oxo-biodegradable plastic biodegrade, or does it just fragment?

Oxo-biodegradable plastic does just what it says, the clue is in the name – It is called oxo-biodegradable plastic because it is biodegradable. Oxo-biodegradable technology converts plastic products into biodegradable materials at the end of their useful life, and it does this by oxidation in the presence of oxygen. There is nothing misleading about it.

There are some scientists who are not expert in oxo-biodegradable technology and there are mischievous individuals or companies who are spreading misinformation because they wish to give their own product an advantage in the marketplace that it does not deserve on merit. A scientific team from Blaise Pascal University (France’s leading research centre into degradable plastics) took issue with the erroneous ‘not very expert reports’ and misinformation by which the EU has been misled on this issue http://www.biodeg.org/CNEP%20Stmt%20Nov%202014%20(En)-Lemaire%20appvd(1).pdf

Oxo-biodegradable plastic degrades and biodegrades in the open environment in the same way as nature’s wastes, only quicker. What’s more, it does so without leaving any toxic residues or fragments of plastic behind. If oxo-biodegradable plastic merely fragmented without biodegrading, CEN (European Committee for Standardization)would not have defined oxo-biodegradability as ““degradation resulting from oxidative and cell-mediated phenomena, either simultaneously or successively” and the American, British and French standards organisations would not have included tests for biodegradability in ASTM D6954, BS8472 and ACT51-808.

Oxo-biodegradable plastic has been studied by scientists for many years http://www.biodeg.org/bibliography.html most recently at the Technical Research Institute of Sweden and the Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences, and a peer-reviewed report of the work was published in Vol 96 of the journal of Polymer Degradation & Stability (2011) at page 919-928. They found 91% biodegradation within 24 months.

Furthermore, ten governments in the world have examined this technology very carefully and realised that oxo-biodegradable plastic offers a solution to plastic waste that escapes into the open environment and cannot realistically be collected. They have legislated to make oxo-biodegradable plastic mandatory, because it does not just fragment. It biodegrades.

The process continues until the material has biodegraded to nothing more than CO2, water, and humus. It does not leave fragments of petro-polymers in the soil.

What does it cost?

Very little, because the additive represents only 1% of the polymer, and because the products can be made with the same machines and workforce as ordinary plastic.

Won’t it put existing factories out of business, with loss of jobs?

No, because commercial customers can still use the factories which supply them with ordinary plastic products.

What types of biodegradable plastics exist?

The two main types are oxo-biodegradable and hydro-biodegradable.  In both cases degradation begins with a chemical process (oxidation or hydrolysis), followed by a biological process.  Both types emit CO2 as they degrade, but hydro-biodegradables (usually starch-based) will also emit methane under anaerobic conditions eg deep in landfill.  Only oxo-biodegradable can be economically recycled.

What are the differences between oxo-biodegradable and hydro-biodegradable plastic?

See: The Relevance of Biodegradable Plastic

Surely education is the way to solve the litter problem?

Hopefully education will reduce the litter problem over several generations, but there is a huge amount of plastic litter today and there will always be some litter.  Action needs to be taken today to switch to oxo-biodegradable before millions more tons of plastic waste accumulate in the environment. This what the United Arab Emirates, Pakistan and other countries have now done by law, and other countries will be doing.

Isn’t it better to recycle than to let it biodegrade?

Yes, and one of the benefits of oxo-biodegradable plastic is that it can be recycled as part of a normal plastic waste stream (see http://www.biodeg.org/recycling.html  However, if the plastic is not collected it cannot of course be recycled, so it needs to degrade instead of accumulating in the environment.

What about energy recovery?

In some countries incineration is popular, and modern equipment is in place.  Oxo-biodegradable plastic can be incinerated with energy recovery in the same way as conventional plastic, and has a higher calorific value than the hydro-biodegradable alternative.

Can it be composted?

Oxo-biodegradable plastic does not degrade quickly in low temperature “windrow” composting, and it will not therefore pass the tests in EN13432 in the timescale there specified, but it is suitable for “in-vessel” composting at the higher temperatures required by the new EU animal by-products regulations.  

What happens to it in a landfill?

Oxo-biodegradable plastics fragment and partially biodegrade to CO2 and water in the parts of the landfill where oxygen is present, but degradation cannot continue deeper in the landfill in the absence of oxygen.

By contrast, hydro-biodegradable (starch-based) plastics will degrade and emit CO2 in a landfill. However, in the depths of a landfill, in the absence of air, hydro-biodegradable plastics generate methane, which is a powerful greenhouse gas.

Does oxobio plastic contain “heavy metals”?

No.  It contains metal salts, which are trace elements required in the human diet. They should not be confused with toxicheavy metals such as Lead, Mercury, Cadmium and Chromium, which are never used in oxo-biodegradable plastics.

Isn’t it made from oil?

Yes.  Oxo-biodegradable plastics are currently made from a by-product of oil or natural gas.  These are of course finite resources, but the by-product arises because the world needs fuels, and would arise whether or not the by-product were used to make plastic goods.  

Until other fuels and lubricants have been developed for engines, it makes good environmental sense to use the by-product, instead of using agricultural resources to make plastics.

Recently, interest has been shown, especially in Brazil, in manufacturing sugar-derived polyethylenes.  These, like oil-derived PE, are not biodegradable, but they can be made oxo-biodegradable in the same way, by the addition of a pro-degradant additive.

But aren’t the hydro-biodegradable plastics renewable?

No – because the process of making them from crops is itself a significant user of fossil-fuel energy and a producer therefore of greenhouse gases. See  http://www.biodeg.org/Hydro-biodegradable%20Plastic%20Production%20Process.pdf  

Fossil fuels are burned and CO2 is emitted by the machines which clear and cultivate the land, and in the manufacture and transport of fertilisers and pesticides and in transporting the crop itself.  Energy is also used by the autoclaves which polymerise material synthesised from biochemically produced intermediates (e.g. polylactic acid from carbohydrates etc). When the material biodegrades it emits CO2 and can emit methane, so the total fossil fuels used and greenhouse gases emitted will be more than for conventional or oxo-biodegradable plastic.  

In June 2009 Germany’s Institute for Energy and Environmental Research concluded that oil-based plastics, especially if recycled, have a better Life-cycle Analysis than compostable plastics.  This was also the conclusion of two LCAs done by Intertek http://www.biodeg.org/lifecycleassessments.html

Hydro-biodegradables are sometimes described as made from “non-food” crops, but are in fact usually made from food crops, and drive up the price of human and animal food.

Does oxobio plastic leave any harmful residues?

No.  Oxo-biodegradable plastic passes all the usual ecotoxicity tests, including seed germination, plant growth and organism survival (daphnia, earthworms) tests carried out in accordance with OECD standards.

Deliberately and totally lost?

The argument that oxo-biodegradable plastics are undesirable because their components are designed to be deliberately and totally lost is a fallacy, because if people want to incinerate with heat recovery, or mechanically recycle them, or compost them in-vessel, or re-use them, then that’s OK, and they cost very little if anything more than conventional products.  The key point is what happens to the plastic which is not collected, and gets into the environment as litter?  

In any event, oxo-biodegradable plastics are not “deliberately and totally lost” even if they degrade in the environment, because biodegradation is a source of plant nutrients, just as is straw, grass, leaves etc.

By contrast, hydro-biodegradable plastics ARE “deliberately and totally lost” because the applicable international standards require them to convert to CO2 gas within 180 days.

More Careless disposal?

Degradable plastic bags have been supplied by supermarkets for more than ten years, but there is no evidence that people dispose more carelessly of them (whether oxo or hydro biodegradable) and they have not been encouraged to do so.  The type of person who causes litter will not bother to look for a biodegradable label before tossing it out of a car window.

But suppose for the sake of argument that 10% more were discarded.  If 1,000 conventional and 1,100 oxo-biodegradable bags were left uncollected in the environment, 1,000 conventional bags would remain in the rivers, streets and fields for decades, but none of the oxo-biodegradable bags would be left at the end of the short life programmed into them at manufacture.

As there will always be people who will deliberately or accidentally discard their plastic waste, what will happen to all the plastic waste that will not be recycled or will not be incinerated, and instead will litter the countryside – would it not be better if the plastic were all oxo-biodegradable?  If all the plastic has been oxobio there would be no ocean garbage patches.

Is it safe for food-contact?

Yes.  Oxo-biodegradable plastic has been certified by RAPRA Technology Analytical Laboratories as safe for long-term contact with any food type at temperatures up to 40°C according to European regulations. RAPRA is accredited by the United Kingdom accreditation authorities as meeting the requirements of International Standards Organisation norm no.17025. Oxo-biodegradable plastics are also certified as compliant with FDA requirements in the US.

Can oxo-bio be marketed as Biodegradable or Compostable?

Yes (except in California). A court in the US court ruled in February 2015 that it is not necessary to prove complete biodegradation, nor within any particular timescale.

On 8th April 2010 the Advertising Standards Authority of South Africa ruled that bread bags made with oxo-biodegradable plastic can be advertised as Biodegradable.

The current EU Standard for composting  (EN13432) is not appropriate for testing oxo-biodegradable plastic.  The EU Packaging Waste Directive does NOT require that when a packaging product is marketed as “degradable” or “compostable” it must be assessed according to EN13432.  The Directive provides that conformity with its essential requirements may be presumed if EN 13432 is complied with, but it does not exclude proof of conformity by other evidence.  Indeed Annex Z of EN13432 itself says that it provides only one means of conforming with the essential requirements.  

Isn’t it better to use paper bags?

No.  The process of making paper bags causes 70% more atmospheric pollution than plastic bags.  Paper bags use 300% more energy to produce, and the process uses huge amounts of water and creates very unpleasant organic waste. When they degrade they emit methane and carbon dioxide.

A stack of 1000 new plastic carrier bags would be around 2 inches high, but a stack of 1000 new paper grocery bags could be around 2 feet high.  It would take at least seven times the number of trucks to deliver the same number of bags, creating seven times more transport pollution and road congestion.

Also, because paper bags are not as strong as plastic, people may use two or three bags inside each other.  Paper bags cannot normally be re-used, and will disintegrate if wet.

Isn’t it better to use durable re-usable bags?

No.  Long-term re-usable shopping bags are not the answer.  They are much thicker and more expensive, and a large number of them would be required for the weekly shopping of an average family. They are not hygienic unless cleaned after each use.  Whilst sometimes called “Bags for Life” they have a limited life, depending on the treatment they receive, and become a very durable problem when discarded.

Shoppers do not always go to the shop from home, where the re-usable bags would normally be kept, and consumers are unlikely to have a re-usable bag with them when buying on impulse items such as clothing, groceries, CDs, magazines, stationery etc.  

However, for those who believe in long-term re-usable bags, they can be made from extended-life oxo-biodegradable washable plastic containing an anti-microbial additive.

How long does it take to degrade?

An important advantage of oxo-biodegradable plastic is that it can be programmed to degrade in whatever timescale is required.  The average useful life of a carrier bag is usually designed to be about 18 months (to allow for distribution, stocking, and re-use), but shorter or longer times are possible.  During that time bags are often re-used for shopping or for use as bin-liners etc.  Heat and light will accelerate the process, but they are not essential.  If discarded in the outdoor environment at the end of its useful life it will degrade and biodegrade much more quickly than conventional plastic.  Timescale for the abiotic phase can be predicted by laboratory tests, but it is not necessary or possible to predict timescale for subsequent biodegradation.

What products are available in oxo-biodegradable plastic?

Carrier bags or “shopper-bags” which consumers use to take away their purchases from the shop

Refuse sacks, which consumers buy in rolls at the shop, and use for disposal of their ordinary household waste.

Aprons, for the protection of garments, in the home, hospitals, restaurants, workshops etc.

Bags to contain dog faeces collected in parks, gardens, etc

Bin liners

Gloves

Plastic sheeting for a variety of applications in agriculture and horticulture.

Plastic film for wrapping newspapers and magazines.

Bread bags

Frozen food bags

Wrappers for cigarette packets

Shrink-wrap and pallet-wrap

“Bubble-wrap”

Rigid products such as bottles and cups

More products will become available in due course.

What national or international standards exist?

Oxo-biodegradable plastic can be tested according to American Standard ASTM D6954-04 for Plastics that Degrade in the Environment by a Combination of Oxidation and Biodegradation. Also, according to British Standard 8472, or UAE Standard 5009 of 2009, or the French Accord T51-808.

The French Standards organisation, AFNOR, has also published XP T 54-980, for oxo-biodegradable plastics in agriculture.

European standard EN 13432 applies only to plastic packaging, and was written before oxo-biodegradable plastics became popular.  It is not appropriate for testing oxo-biodegradable plastics because it is based on measuring the rapid emission of carbon dioxide during biodegradation.  Hydro-biodegradable plastic is compliant with EN 13432, precisely because it emits CO2 (a greenhouse gas) at a rapid rate.